Astral Magic is the new solo project by Santtu Laakso aka Dj Astro. His debut for Tonzonen Records titled “Magical Kingdom” will be released on limited edition vinyl on June 10th.

Santtu used to play bass and Moog in the Finnish psychedelic space rock band Dark Sun. Astral Magic has no definitive style or form, but everything is and will be spacey and psychedelic. Since the project was started in March 2020, over 300 tracks have been created. Some of the tracks are cosmic, ambient excursions into other dimensions, some are more space/ kraut/ psych/ prog rocking in the vein of Hawkwind, Gong, Eloy, Pink Floyd, NEU! etc.

“Magical Kingdom” can be considered the first psychedelic prog rock album by Astral Magic. The listener is taken into another mysterious, magical world. 

Astral Magic shared the last instrumental track of the album titled ‘Seven Planes’ as a video single, featuring longtime experienced multi-instrumentalist from Nevada City, California, Jay Tausig on drums and electric guitar.

Other musicians on the album include multi-instrumentalist Jay Tausig (US, drums, guitar, saxophone, flute), Gregory Curvey (US, guitar, glockenspiel), Peter Bingham (UK, guitar), Markku Helin (FI, guitar), Anton Barbeau (US, guitar) and Perttu Lindberg (FI, drums).

“Magical Kingdom” was recorded and mixed in 2020-2021 and mastered by the kraut rock legend Eroc for maximum sound quality. Preorder is live here.

Facebook | Bandcamp

For CVLTARTES PR services drop us a line