ALTARETH has released the sizzling track ‘Moon’ as the first single taken from their forthcoming debut full-length “Blood”, which is slated to hit stores on November 5.

The Swedish doomsters are also revealing cover art, tracklist, and further details of “Moon” below. 

Our songs always come together in a collective effort and every member contributes with their parts even though riffs and lyrics are often created individually,

explains guitarist Niklas Sörum.

“There is a somewhat folksy vibe to ‘Moon’ that we all very much appreciated. The combination of raw heavy riffs with more fragile moments and a wide space for vocals is part of how we express the spirit of our Nordic influences. Niklas and Sven came up with the riffs of this song. Paddy wrote the lyrics, which are obviously about the moon as a potent symbol. The funny story about this particular song is that Mats heard it before he became our bassist and it made him really want to join this band. That’s the power of the moon for you.”

On their debut full-length “Blood”, ALTARETH serves their sludgy guitars low and slow, with a slab of fuzz and a side of doom in massive portions. The Swedes from Gothenburg have built their musical foundation on a melding of heavy riffs and memorable melodies that is carried on four pillars of soaring vocals, fuzzy guitars, pounding drums, and fat, resonating bass.

Thematically, “Blood” revolves around the dynamic relationship between the eternal and the imminent spheres of existence, communicated through elemental ideas like blood, sleep, and the moon, as well as delving into more immediate human struggles, and the notion of lives played out in an era of quantity over meaning.

Since their formation in early 2013, ALTARETH has conjured a musical spirit filled with crunchy and harsh guitars that shows their passion for true metal, which is defined by the sludgy tempos of epic doom and layered with haunting vocal melodies that float across and above. 

ALTARETH takes influences from a wide range of contemporary bands such as UNCLE ACID, SLEEP, ELECTRIC WIZARD, WINDHAND, and PALLBEARER, but also from canonical outfits like ST. VITUS, PENTAGRAM, BLACK SABBATH, and their compatriots CANDLEMASS. Swedish metal has clearly left a dark mark as ALTARETH also quotes BATHORY, OPETH, and MARDUK as sources of inspiration. Apart from the obvious, the Swedes listen to a wide range of bands including CAPTAIN BEEFHEART, RADIOHEAD, KING CRIMSON, NEIL YOUNG, and GUNS N’ ROSES, among many others.

Driven by such eclectic tastes, guitarist Niklas Sörum set out to encounter like minds with whom to create a filthy and massive yet melodic outfit that could energize the scene with much-needed fuzzed-out quality down-tuned songs. When he finally found Mats, Sven, Paddy, and Vigfus, ALTARETH was born.

Now the Swedes’ debut album “Blood” more than fulfills the massive promise ALTARETH has shown from the day of their inception and early demos.

1. Blood
2. Satan Hole
3. Downward Mobile
4. Eternal Sleep
5. Moon
6. High Priest
7. Empty

Mixed and produced by Freddie van Eijsden at the Altareth HQ and various locations around Göteborg, Sweden between March 2019 and December 2020
Mastered by Anders Lagerfors at Nacksving Studios
Drum recording of tracks 1, 2, 4 & 7 by Kenny Boufadene at Studio Meltdown

Follow ALTARETH on:
Facebook | Instagram

Cover photo: (c) Daniel Baverrna