The legendary duo TEARS FOR FEARS has announced the release of their first album in 17 years. The new album, titled “The Tipping Point”, will be out on February 25, 2022, via Concord. The duo has also shared a Matt Mahurin-directed video for its lead single and the title track.

Before everything went so right with this album, everything first had to go wrong. It took years, but something happens when we put our heads together. We’ve got this balance, this push-me-pull-you thing—and it works really well.

Roland Orzabal

“The Tipping Point” features musical contributions from frequent TEARS FOR FEARS collaborator Charlton Pettus, as well as producer/songwriters Sacha Skarbek and Florian Reutter.

The new record is seven years in the making, featuring the band’s first new material since “I Love You But I’m Lost”, a track that was included on the 2017 “Rule the World: The Greatest Hits” compilation.

If that balance doesn’t work on a Tears For Fears album, the whole thing just doesn’t work. To put it in simple terms, a Tears For Fears record and what people perceive to be the sound of Tears For Fears—is the stuff we can both agree on. When you’ve known each other as long as we have, and have worked together as long as we have, there’s a bond there that becomes familial. So, it’s different from a friendship. And it’s different from a marriage. It’s literally like that’s your brother. It’s the kind of bond that you can’t really break. It can fall apart at times. You separate for periods, which I also think is healthy, really. But in the end, we always seem to find each other again.

Curt Smith


  1. No Small Thing
  2. The Tipping Point
  3. Long, Long, Long Time
  4. Break The Man
  5. My Demons
  6. Rivers Of Mercy
  7. Please Be Happy
  8. Master Plan
  9. End Of Night
  10. Stay

Bonus tracks

  1. Let It All Evolve* 4:25
  2. Secret Location 4:02
  3. The Shame* 5:34

TEARS FOR FEARS’ new album “The Tipping Point” is out February 25, 2022. Pre-Order Here