Dark singer-songwriter act THE DEVIL’S TRADE is proud to unveil the title track of his upcoming album “Vidékek vannak idebenn”. The brand-new album will be released on July 14, 2023, via Season of Mist and can be pre-ordered here

THE DEVIL’S TRADE comments on the track: “‘Vidékek vannak idebenn’ is the first song I have ever written in Hungarian. As usual, it has a deeply personal layer but it also has another layer that is about the typical Eastern European political struggle: ignoring our history we make the same mistakes again and again till a point where our world gets so rotten and corrupted the only escape seems to be hiding in our own inner worlds. Luckily my inner world is flourishing more than ever.

I was in the liminal space between past and present

It is no surprise liminal space is a key element in the next phase of THE DEVIL’S TRADE’s fourth album, “Vidékek vannak idebenn” (a title that loosely translates to “There Are Landscapes Within”) as Dávid Makó, the man behind the moniker has indeed arrived to a threshold in his career, where the phase starting with his self-released debut ’Those Miles We Walked Alone’ ended after his latest album ’The Call of the Iron Peak’. The concept of liminal space itself is a not necessarily pleasant state of mind where you left behind your old life, but new doors haven’t exactly opened just yet. 

As Makó states “The process my first three records pieced together ended, that was no path for me to take anymore, but to take a step forward I had to make decisions I wasn’t inspired enough to make.” – and from this frustrated, sort of paralyzed state of floating, a new incarnation of THE DEVIL’S TRADE was born and so was “Vidékek vannak idebenn” along with it.

While still true to his solo artist roots, delivering gut-wrenching melodies of darkness and beauty on his own, Makó needed an expansion to his universe. With the addition of long-time friend and former bandmate Gáspár Binder on drums and a live keyboard player, he finally took the much-needed step forward, and “Vidékek vannak idebenn” portrays the next sonic phase of THE DEVIL’S TRADE.

A soundtrack to the next phase of his life. A soundtrack to souls stuck in liminal space, hungry to adapt to new realities and to grow further, outside the boundaries which so often shackle them.

THE DEVIL’S TRADE recently announced a massive European run supporting ALCEST. Mastermind Dávid Makó comments: “My next album and the new path I chose with it is the biggest step I have taken since I started The Devil’s Trade and I can’t be grateful enough to Alcest for this opportunity to share my new music with their people.”

02 Jun 23 Pécs (HU) Káptalan Kert – open air
23 Jun 23 Csongrád (HU) Tisza Presszó – open air
08 Jul 23 Budapest (HU) Dürer Kert – open air / free entrance event

29 Sep 23 Metz (FR) La Bam
30 Sep 23 Bruges (BE) Cactus Club
01 Oct 23 Hamburg (DE) Knust
03 Oct 23 Copenhagen (DK) Lille Vega
04 Oct 23 Oslo (NO) Parkteatret
05 Oct 23 Stockholm (SE) Fryshuset Klubben
07 Oct 23 Dresden (DE) Stromwerk
08 Oct 23 Poznan (PL) 2Progi
09 Oct 23 Wroclaw (PL) Stary Klasztor
10 Oct 23 Hannover (DE) Musikzentrum
11 Oct 23 Frankfurt (DE) Zoom
13 Oct 23 Nijmegen (NL) Soulcrusher
14 Oct 23 Lille (FR) L’aeronef
15 Oct 23 Manchester (UK) Academy 2
16 Oct 23 Bristol (UK) SWX
17 Oct 23 Brighton (UK) Concorde 2
19 Oct 23 Vauréal (FR) Le Forum
20 Oct 23 St. Nazaire (FR) Le Vip
21 Oct 23 Rouen (FR) Le 106
22 Oct 23 Savigny-le-temple (FR) L’empreinte

The cover artwork for “Vidékek vannak idebenn” is created by Bálint Benkő.

Recording studio: Templom, Budapest Hungary
Producer: Makó Dávid
Mix/Master: Szabolcs Szűcs

Recording line-up:
Dávid Makó: vocals, guitars, keyboards, banjo
Gáspár Binder: drums

Photos: (c) Chantik Photography

Facebook | Bandcamp | Instagram

The following two tabs change content below.